So I’m finally employed. That puts a strike in the pros column of life. I’ve only been there two weeks but so far so good. I won’t go in to detail about what I do and where I work. But it’s a rewarding job to say the least. I’m a cog in a machine as they say. One day I’ll be the machine. I’m currently adapting to the wicked ways a 9-5 takes up most of my time. Factor the hour spent getting to work and the hour coming home. That just usually leaves me exhausted and not feeling very creative. The past few days however I’ve been good and put fingers to keyboard trying to churn out my thoughts and ideas.

I thought once I got this job I would spend my time wishing I was unemployed again. Penning blog posts from a library or Starbucks and watching the day go by. Seeing the men in suits scuttling about town trying to get from A to B to C then back to A. Now I’m one of those guys. It’s an interesting feeling to see it from both sides. Although I have no time to lounge in Starbucks and listen to people’s conversations about Princess Diana or their cat.

I had to undergo a wardrobe overhaul. Shirt and trousers are the required dress code of my office therefore I put in a visit to Primark, Next, Marks and Spencer’s and even Burton. New coat shirts, new belt, new coat and new shoes. I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and everything just hit me. I’m getting old. Gone are the days of my baggy t-shirts and baggy jeans. Colourful hoodies and New Era caps (Yeah I was one of those guys). Even my sense in footwear has smartened up. Brown boots, black vans and black brogues. No hats unless its a beanie, otherwise my balding head is on full show. The worst part is I don’t even care if people see that I’m losing my hair.

The best part about getting old is that I have someone to get old with. And truthfully I wouldn’t change that for anything. The only direction I’m moving is forwards. A wise man once said “Don’t look at it as getting older, look at it as getting better.” Indeed sir, indeed.

 

Greg J Allman

